future_titleFour high schools, seven middle schools, two K-8 schools, and 10 elementary schools serve the current student population of 9,500+  students. In addition to serving K-12 students, Sullivan County Department of Education provides pre-kindergarten opportunities at seven elementary schools. Students with special needs receive pre-kindergarten experiences in five elementary schools. Special education services are provided to 1700 students from ages 6-21.

Located in the hills of Northeast Tennessee, Sullivan County’s beautiful landscape is comprised of two lakes, the Holston Mountain in Cherokee National Forest, and numerous streams. This region is a travel destination for fly fishermen, Nascar fans, and country and bluegrass music devotees.

Sullivan County was originally established in 1779 as part of North Carolina, and from 1784 to 1788 was part of the State of Franklin. Rocky Mount, located in the Piney Flats community, was the first territorial capital of the Southwest Territory from 1790 to 1792. The deep historical roots carry forth into today’s Sullivan County, where a blend of major manufacturers and agronomists supports the economy.

Sullivan County Department of Education employs 722 educators, 47 administrators, and 649 support staff members, including secretaries and bookkeepers, educational assistants, food service personnel, custodial and maintenance staff, and school nurses. Sullivan County personnel maintain focus on the learner and continually seek professional learning to enhance educational opportunities for all students. Decisions are driven by a focus on positive relationships, high expectations, student engagement, and student growth grounded by a myriad of both formative and summative data.

Sullivan County Department of Education
154 Blountville Bypass
P.O. Box 306
Blountville, TN 37617
Phone:  423-354-1000
Fax:  423-354-1004